Unlimited access >

Experienced A-show hunter gelding suddenly scared of all objects on the ground.

Hi there,

I’ve always appreciated the insights of the COTH community over the years, and am really hopeful to get your input on this situation that has myself (owner), as well as current and former trainers completely baffled. Sorry for the short novel that follows:

Here’s the situation: 7-year-old warmblood gelding that I imported as a 4-year-old. Brought him along myself (I have 20 years of riding and competition experience) along with help from the trainers at the barn for which I was working. Took him to Florida as a coming 5-year-old, showed him lightly in the 2’6" Baby Green Hunters at WEF. He was fabulous - both with myself and the trainer, he did really well and was incredibly brave. Never once looked at a jump, just the typical green things to work through - a bit of rushing down the lines, straightness, controlling his huge stride, etc. Hacked out alone and trailrode to the show grounds every day with no issue.

He continued competing the following summer and moved up to the 3’ Greens (trainer riding), doing well overall but not a huge fan of one particular arena up in Vermont, which we thought had to do with the bright yellow flowers and pine tree standards. In this particular ring, he did run out at a jump once - the first time I’d seen this happen - with the trainer riding, which was handled correctly without punishment, and he got through it.