Unlimited access >

Explain Hunter/Jumper to me! (:

So I have been riding for a little over two years and have only ever done eventing. Now, however, I am thinking about switching to hunter/jumper. It’s been hard for me to find a good eventing barn since I moved to Illinois (there are plenty of hunter/jumper barns), and I also want to join/start an IHSA team when I start college in the fall.

But, before I switch, I wanted to get a better understanding on the differences between eventing and hunter/jumper. I’ve heard different things and tried to research, but I figured this would be a good place to post and hear it straight from hunter/jumper riders! Also, if you have any helpful info on riding for an IHSA team, feel free to share!

Thanks everyone (:

Is it hunters or jumpers that you’re interested in? They compete at the same shows but they’re very different.

As of right now, I think hunters, but, if I’m completely honest, I do not really know. (From what I understand, IHSA does hunters, so that is what I would be doing.) I guess I need to know the difference between those two, as well as how they each differ from eventing.

In the simplest terms: Hunters are to go around a course at a very steady tempo, jumping basically in stride, without a lot of (obvious) tinkering on the riders part. Its not about speed, its about the look and style, and behavior, so subjective judging… Typically the course is designed with less twists and turns, particularly at lower level.
Jumpers do a course that is technically more challenging, it is times and faults, so quantifiable results are all that matters. Jumper rider has to be very adept at finding distances, cutting corners to save time, etc. Many jumpers appear to be hotter horses.

Hunter jumps are usually designed to look like more natural obstacles, Jumper jumps can be quite creative…

Watch this hunter round (one of top riders in US) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qB11qgXLb44

Same rider doing a jumper class