Unlimited access >

Favorite good-looking durable gloves

I’m on the lookout for a pair of durable, yet good looking gloves for moderate weather (not frigid winter, not dead of summer) for schooling or ideally, for both schooling and showing in the hunters. Most gloves I own quickly get holes in the fingers, even if I avoid using them for grooming/tacking. What gloves are your favorites?

I use ski glove liners from the outdoor equipment store. They are fleece inside, smooth outside, with silicon palm grips. I have some by North Face, Firefly, etc. I find they last longer than the similar thing from equestrian brands.

2 Likes

I second ski gloves for the dirty work (grooming, stall cleaning, etc).

I also have the SSG 10 Below gloves and LOVE them, but they’re a bit pricier than ski loves. Well worth it.

I’m in the PNW and to be honest, the only gloves I’ve really ever ridden in are the Roeckls, and I JUST got the winter ones for the first time (I’ve been riding for 20 years). They are a game changer. I love that they are machine washable. They hold up if you wash them semi-regularly and lay flat to dry.

2 Likes

I have been window shopping Roeckels. But I can’t guarantee I will never grab a hay fork or throw hay in my riding gloves, and I am really bad at losing gloves as they come on and off riding to work glove. And winter Roeckles are over $70 Canadian.

What I need are riding gloves that are water proof on top not on the palm. But actual Goretex gloves sweat up like crazy. It’s a paradox.

1 Like

I wear my Roeckl Chester gloves year round. They last me two or three years before the grip wears off (I use textured reins.) I then retire them for home use where they become my winter gloves or liners.

1 Like