Fear Over Fences - How to Deal With Lack of Confidence?

If this sounds like the thread that I found below, please feel free to tell me to consult that thread, however, I feel I am a bit different. Let me explain:

I have been riding for 17 years (With a 1 year break that just ended back in April of this year.) doing mostly hunter/jumpers. The trainers I ride with all say the same thing “Erin, you ride great on the flat, but over fences you lose every bit of confidence you have. Did you have a crash or a bad horse? What happened?” And I can never tell them one specific occurrence, but I know I hate being run away with because I hate the feeling of not being in control. If I don’t trust the horse or feel they are going to misbehave after the fence, I tense up and literally shut down. If I’m riding a horse I trust and know, I’m much better. Now, here’s the kicker. I am an assistant trainer for a barn in California. I shouldn’t (and can’t!) have these brain melt downs.

Does any one have any suggestions of people I can talk to (via Skype, phone calls, so on), books I can read, things I can listen to in order for me to remove my head from my butt? I get extremely frustrated with myself when this debilitating mental block happens and I just want to be able to tell myself to shut off the negative thoughts in my head (or as my current trainer tells me, ‘take the negative thoughts, put them in a box, shut the lid and put them aside.’) I don’t need to be coddled and told its ok. I’m far beyond needing comfort. I’m to the point where I need someone to kick me in the pants and tell me to get over myself.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

There is an online course about to start at fenzi academy about making your brain your third partner in animal sports.

http://www.fenzidogsportsacademy.com/index.php/courses/2443