Unlimited access >

Feeding an old horse

Hi!
I’ve been deep in the forum looking for my answers and while I’ve gathered some great ideas, I think I should just ask directly:
One of my family’s older horses is having a hard time eating. For the longest time I assumed he was just aggressive, keeping his place as the boss, but now I’m thinking he’s just really hungry. He is about 27 and I thought he was just using his night hay as a padding for his stall but while enjoying the weather today, with him and the other horses, I noticed that he’ll chew the hay, start to swallow it and then basically spit it out. No actual eating. I’m heartbroken.
I’ve just moved back to the area and I’m taking over a lot of their feedings and maintenance but I am a novice with senior care. What kind of senior feed, hay stretcher, or oils would be a great place to start to help him gain some weight back and that will make all involved happy?
I’m leaning towards a soy bean oil and hay pellets but his teeth are very worn down. So, what do you think?

Sounds like the horse is quidding his hay. He may have tooth loss or teeth issues and should be seen by an equine dentist to make sure everything is OK in his mouth.

How is his body condition? Are ribs visible? Is the coat really dull? If not, he’s managing to get calories somehow. Soaking an elder horses feed is best when tooth loss and other dental issues start to be a problem. Older horses often require more calories via feed/supplements because they can’t get enough hay down to supply enough calories/nutrients. And as they age, they just don’t process/digest things as efficiently either.

A picture of the horse may help. And what exactly is he fed now - hay, grain, supplements. etc. each day?

1 Like

I’m unable to upload a photo but his coat is still thick, long and not patchy. so I can’t see his ribs but he is boney, especially in his hips.