Fibromyalgia And You...

I am just new to COTH though I’ve been lurking for awhile.
I have fibromyalgia and bought my first horse at the ripe age
Of 47. Mouse is a 13 yr old BLM Mustang. She had been a lawn ornament for several years at her previous owner. She has great foundational training, but suffers from what I believe to be hind gut acidosis that leads to bouts of moderate gas colic. In short about every so often she gets pain, I get tossed. The last time was two weeks ago and I landed on a cement pad on my left ribcage. So I’m sidelined till that heals. My reason for posting is to say I’m glad there are others that are out there that struggle with pain and ride anyway. With my fibromyalgia I fell off my own feet at least once or twice a month. Pain and weakness and numbness made me a Suzy Fallsalot. Riding has fixed my balance and strengthened my back and legs tremendously. Now the only time I fall is off the horse. It has also done amazing things for my mental stability. As most of you know, pain drains and depresses. Mouse clears my head, makes me focus, and just flat makes me laugh a lot. I logged zillions of miles on her this summer, alone on the dirt roads by my house. Fill a saddlebag and stare at the road between her ears for hours. I’ve been dismissed from my local riding group because they see her as a danger to me. Once I’m on, she is good to go. She has never bucked or spooked on trail, even when we get Dino ER by Walmart bags or rabbits out of bushes. She’s bombproof. But I digress. She has saved my life. She has taught me more than I could ever tell, and if I was told I could never ride again, I would keep her. I would lunge and groom and teach her to dance to Newsboys music. I’m so glad I’m not alone. I’m so glad there are others that struggle and know where I’m coming from. I’m getting the “crazy lady” look from some people. “You have fibro? AND a HORSE?” (read, “What are you, HIGH?”) I think the diagnosis should come with a horse.