Unlimited access >

Filmmaker wanting to make sales videos

Hello,

My husband and I are filmmakers with our own production company. We’ve been in the business for 20 years, made feature films, commercials for TV, (Clients include Consumer Reports, Wall St Journal, About.com, etc) I’ve ridden most of my life and wrote a book about the horse world.

We’re interested in shooting and editing videos of horses for sale, and I’m wondering where we should advertise. We’re in Northern Westchester. Since we haven’t done these before, we’d like to do a few for a reduced fee before we advertise in a place like the Chronicle. Any suggestions? I’m also wondering if there are any examples of great video work someone could share.

Thank you,

JHL

Well, I’m an amateur, and I don’t make sales videos. But I do videos of my work with my horse that I think are pretty awesome, if I do say so myself. I don’t have a helper to video me. I do everything with a tripod and Premiere Elements 11 to edit (which is a total pain in the neck because I have a very limited laptop).

But come look at my 9 million videos! :slight_smile:

I’m not sure sales videos would be profitable? The best sales videos are as raw as possible with no music or editing. Buyers want to see the horse with as little interference as possible. But you might be able to profit from making fancy videos for kids or riders.

Honestly, I can hardly bear to watch unedited horse videos. I think a good sales video should be edited. Not editing as in CHEATING (making a bad horse look good), but zooming in, cutting out the dead time, taking out the annoying noises. There are many things you can do to a sales video to make it more watchable and to accurately portray the horse.

But would people be willing to pay a premium for that?

[QUOTE=Cindyg;8027182]