Unlimited access >

finding a tall lesson/riding horse on Long Island?

Hello all!

So I am currently a college student with a bit of a horse dilemma. I am a tall 6’4" rider who cannot find a horse to ride! I’ve tried asking around on LIequine but did not get much of a response or the offers that I got were from barns with unsuitable riding conditions for me. I am hoping somebody would be able to point me in the direction of a barn or person with an available where I could work to ride or something similar. I’m open to riding any breed so long as there’s enough room for me and my long legs!
I’m only posting in this forum because I would like to eventually learn to jump although I have done some very basic dressage. Hoping that some member has a friend in need of help or can help spread the word. I am located in Stony Brook but can travel!

Are you a Stony Brook student? SUNY Stony Brook has a great riding team, based at Old Town Equestrian Center; OTEC also has a huge lesson program, you don’t have to be on the team to ride there. Plenty of nice horses, definitely one will fit you. 631-473-2075

Don’t count out the 15.2-16.2 hand horse range! DH is 6’6 and somewhat lanky (about 210 lbs), but he regularly rides QHs and Paints in that height range. Granted it’s western which doesn’t make you look quite as tall, but he doesn’t look bad on them at all!

15.2 mare: https://scontent-dfw.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/305807_10100764782471640_2052036462_n.jpg?oh=728d6b54747f6db9f226c19e01f68cfb&oe=55BC012A

My 16.2 hunter… Not quite sure how he managed to look bigger on this horse that is an entire hand taller: https://scontent-dfw.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/548941_10103697639582480_3269065507657021661_n.jpg?oh=41ff75694948591516221373d730300b&oe=55B233EF

Do you have concerns about your weight or just height? If it’s just height I think something in the 15.2-16 hand range should be fine for you.