Unlimited access >

Firing my first client....?

I’m a newer trainer, I’ve only been doing this part time for 3 or so years. The people who really pushed me to teach are the ones getting under my skin. I teach the mother and the daughter. Daughter is very talented with a beautiful mount. The mother is green and has a very forgiving green horse that I absolutely LOVE. Over the years the daughter cut back riding, only lessons once in a blue moon, sometimes is a no show. The mother went from 2 lessons a week to one. THEN they decided they’d rather have me do “training rides”. after realizing they only ride their horses a max of 4 times a month I got annoyed. I’m not “training” anyone or anything at this point and it’s just a waste of energy on my part.
BUT WAIT…
They then asked me about a12 year old UNBROKE broodmare. For what you may ask? The mother says “I figured you and I could break her.”
NO. THAT IS NOT WHAT I DO. YOU ARE A GREEN RIDER WHO DOESN’T EVEN CANTER. NO.
What do they do? Go get the horse behind my back, I found out through a friend. They then asked me to ride her… I made it very clear for a second time that I value my life and I don’t break horses. The last lesson I did with the mother, she canceled when I was 10 mins away/ 20 mins from lesson time. She still paid me for my time but wanted to complain about her husband for a solid hour. Her reason for not riding? SHE COULDN’T CATCH HER HORSE.

I decided to raise my training ride rates because they abuse it. Now all of a sudden they are riding their own horses. At this point I am tired. Neither person has not progressed in over 3 years and it’s not on me. what would you do? How do I fire a client? I knew I’d have to do this one day but I need to stay professional. tips? pointers?

1 Like

I guess this is where you decide what type of business you want to have. This is totally up to you, the only right answer is what you decide.