Unlimited access >

First AA Show- Tips/Advice?

I have a lot of experience at rated events and a little experience at rated dressage shows, but I will be going to my first rated H/J show tomorrow to work on my show jumping in a bigger atmosphere. I strongly suspect that I will not be the least bit competitive, but I’m not concerned by that. I am, however, a bit concerned with feeling a bit like a fish out of water! Therefore looking for any tips or advice that I might not be thinking of, but might find helpful.

I think I’ve got my major bases covered- I’m familiar with the types of jumper classes these will be (table 2(d) and 2(b)). I swung out to the show yesterday and picked up my back number. Is it ok to pin it on my saddle pad like I do at schooling jumper shows, or do I need to wear it? I have someone meeting me to help me warm up on Friday and Sunday, and my husband can set warmup fences for me on Saturday. There’s nothing about attire in the prize list for my Friday/Saturday classes, so I assume I can go with “standard” and was therefore planning on wearing colored breeches with a polo. Sunday is “proper” so I have a navy coat, navy helmet, white breeches, and a colored stock tie (I have a white tie from my CCI** if colored ties aren’t allowed and/or I’ll stick out like a sore thumb?). It appears as though all my tack is legal. I was only planning on braiding on Sunday, unless it’s advised to braid each day?

One definite question I have is about how much time do I allot for trips when trying to decide when I might go? In eventing, when they don’t assign SJ ride times, I usually allow for 2 min/trip to ballpark when I ride and plan my warmup accordingly.

Thanks in advance for any help and advice!

2 Likes

You’ll be fine! White breeches in jumper land are often reserved for the higher-level classes, though theres no rule against wearing them. Depending on the level you’ll be competing at, you might see most riders in beige breeches even on a formal day.