Unlimited access >

First time breeding! Please Help!!!

Hey Guys,
So I need some help. My CIC** mare broke her knee in a freak accident this summer. We tried rehab however she is quite the opinionated hot head and decided that galloping around was a better idea than sticking to the rehab schedule. Anyways I have made the decision to go ahead and breed her.

She is a 15.1 full tb mare off the track
She has a short neck
Short tense however correct gaits
She has scope and bravery to spare
She is very hot headed and sensitive

I am looking for a stud that has a big round jump, a good calm temperament, a little more height than my girl, and preferably some bigger movement. Probably a warmblood.

I really appreciate any help anyone can give me. I have been doing a lot of research but this is my first time breeding and I am working closely with my vet but I thought you guys might have some better ideas for a match!

Thanks in advance!

There’s so many ways you could go. Some people mentioned Bravo (Oldenburg, Eventing) to me. He might be of interest. I’m looking at breeding my mare to Viscount but I’ve really liked the looks of Contenda too. There really are so many options. What about Formula One?

I’m hoping some Irish Draught breeders might recommend some Irish Sporthorses (TB + Irish Draught); sounds like they would be just what your gal needs.

And while I certainly can’t name a sire, I wonder if there are still any actual PROVEN draft/TB stallions out there any more? The 3/4 TB, 1/4 draft use to be THE go to horse for fox hunting and lower level eventing. They add bone, sturdiness and a better brain to the stamina, quickness and agility of the TB.

Are you wanting to keep eventing at the same level or wanting to breed a horse that can go farther than **?

First time