Unlimited access >

First time buyer with a budget! (repost)

So this is my first time considering buying a horse of my own and I am having a bit of trouble.:confused: Right now I’m looking for a young warmblood hunter prospect, something no older than 4 years to anything as young as a yearling, and it does not need to be under saddle. My budget right now is 10,000, and I am finding it hard to find quality because I refuse to pay over that amount for something that isn’t even backed.
I am not TOO picky but several factors of the horse do matter to me, and I would like it to come from some proven hunter background.
At this point the stallion doesn’t matter as much to me, but these are the stallions I do really like and would love if I could have a baby from them: Escapade, Redwine, Popeye K, Balta Czar, and Aloha.
I feel like I have looked online EVERYWHERE and have come up blank, and there isn’t much around me. I’m located on the East Coast and would love if anyone could guide me to where I can find anything. Any advice or words of wisdom would be appreciated! :o

Sent you a PM

A little math review_
Popeye K stud fee - $2600
Vet fees for breeding $500
Keeping mare for 11+ months - $2500 if you own your own pasture
Foaling out $250
Depreciation of mare while in foal (if $10, 000 horse) - $1428
Raising a foal to age 4 would have to cost less than $700 a year to make this a break even for the breeder.
Maybe an OTTB with good hunter movement would work better for your budget.

Buy in utero. 10k will get you the most quality if you buy now for the upping foal crop.

I agree, in-utero would be the way to go. But even there don’t be surprised to find in-utero foals above the $10,000 price line especially for a Popeye K to make up for the higher stud fee.