Unlimited access >

First Western Saddle

I have ridden English my whole life, and just recently have become very interested in riding Western for fun. I’m not looking to compete, just looking for a saddle to go on trail rides and light riding around my arena on my horses. I have two Arabians, and I would ideally be able to get a saddle that would fit them both, but I’m very unfamiliar with the way a western saddle fits so that may not be possible. For reference, my gelding rides in a wide gullet and my mare rides in a medium-wide, but I ride them both in each other’s saddles and use extra padding to fit them right. My gelding is 15.2 and about 1100 pounds and my mare is about 15.0 and 1000 pounds so they are very similar. The only difference would be that my mare, who I would most likely ride more in the western saddle, has a shorter back and more protruding withers. I’m also a college student, so I am definitely not looking to buy a custom saddle. I know that a custom saddle is going to be the best of the best, but right now I’m just trying to get some information and suggestions for a good starter saddle to see if it’s anything I would be interested in putting more money into :slight_smile:

So questions galore time! What brand do y’all recommend? What type of saddle? Is it reasonable to expect to be able to find a decent used saddle for $400-$500? Do I need to purchase a saddle with the intention of fitting one horse or can I expect to find a saddle that, combined with a proper saddle pad/half pad, will fit both? My dressage saddle is a 16.5 inch and my jump saddle is a 17 inch, so what would be the rough seat equivalent of that? Is there anything I’m missing that I need to know?

Thank you in advance for any and all help, this is definitely not my area of expertise but I’m really excited to learn more!