Unlimited access >

Fit of Rambo Supreme Vs. Wug - And Does My Clipped Horse Need Full Neck Coverage?

Rambo Wugs fit my TB with high withers and large shoulders but I am doing a full body clip this year. Does he need full neck coverage? I am considering doing the $100 trade in to get the Supreme with a full neck attachment. However, I fear that the Supreme won’t fit as well as the Wug and I haven’t found the neck attachments to be very durable on Rambo fly sheets. Thoughts?

My horse’s primary wardrobe consists of an unlined Wug, Smartpak Medium weight with mid-neck, and a Heavy vari-layer Wug. He does have a “turnout hood” by SnuggyHoods to cover his entire neck but it’s not insulated or anything–it just offers some protection from the elements–mainly mud. :lol:

I live in Indiana and my horse is out 24/7 with hay unless he wants to come in or if the weather gets bad.

Thanks for any input. I think I’m just worried because this is my first time doing a full body clip!

I tend to like full neck coverage with a clip, but it also depends on the horse and your weather patterns. Our winters tend to be wet and windy, so the extra coverage is a good idea.

It’s not generally an absolute must if you can keep him in in really bad weather (assuming you’re clipping soonish so he’ll have time to grow some hair back, and that you’re not in a part of the country where it’s below freezing pretty much all winter.) But it’s really nice to have the option.

I like the extra coverage of the supremes. I’ve always had a regular neck or high neck sheet since normally it’s a bit warmer when they are sheeted versus mediums or heavies. But yesterday I traded my amigo high neck for a supreme. I already have the supreme medium and supreme heavy. Very pleased.