Unlimited access >

Fitness Schedule/Days Off

When planning your horse’s fitness schedule is it better to have two days in a row off or one day off, one working, the next day off, and the next working?

Depends on the horse. The one I have currently turns into a monster if he gets two days in a row off, so I try not to do that. I generally ride six days a week but I try to alternate hard and easy days.

My OTTB has always thrived on work - mentally. The more I ride, the better he is. I know that sounds simplistic, but it really works for him. I just dont want him too fit, I’m no longer as athletic as he is.
As a nurse I work, Fulltime, 3 12 hour days a week. For him, the best schedule was this:
Twice daily on my days off, am and pm. Not a long work out, some as short as 15 mins only, some as long as an hour and a half. All different but with simple relaxation and flatwork as a foundation. Some trails, some trailer loading, some dressage, some push cows around quietly. So usually only 2 days in a row off, then he’d work 2, off 1, work 3, etc. Rarely did we gallop, he’s just not trustworthy there yet.
The more he did, the easier it was to get back to business after 2 in a row off.
Now I’m restarting my fat little wildman. He stresses out so much about potential wrong answers.

short and frequent really seems key for both of mine.