Unlimited access >

Fly sheet recommendation for newbie - Weatherbeeta?

I am new to horses and my boy is outside right now for the summer as the barn to just WAY TOO HOT even with stall fans. So he is outside and his paddock has a nice big tree so he has shade. I want to get him a fly sheet as the fly spray is not enough and I also want to protect him from the sub. I have a 16.1 h dark bay Thoroughbred and I am in Northern California. It can get into triple digits at times, but seems to be pretty cool under the tree and the delta breeze.

I was looking at the Weatherbeeta Airflow Fly Sheet, but wanted to get others thoughts on this one or if there is a better one to look at.

Thanks for helping a newbie out!

I have one for my 16hh Standardbred. He wears an 81, and it fits him pretty well, with the exception of the neck hole being just a little big. He’s very narrow, and hard to fit, but Weatherbeeta is as good as it gets for him. I have the neck piece, and it stays up surprisingly well. The sheet stays on despite his rolling, and a mini tugging on it for laughs. Belly attachments works great – keeps him bite free down below. He is very sensitive to bugs and seems comfortable in this sheet. It is a soft material – not like the Kensington mesh, which is probably the coolest material out there. But, it works fine here in New England temps. He defnitely seems cooler in a white fly sheet than when he’s out in just his dark bay coat!

I had one weatherbeeta that I loved, but it didn’t last as long as I would have liked. I’d still probably get another, but I also love my Amigo flybuster and my dura-mesh texilene sheets.

I have this sheet. It’s rather heavy! (weight, not warmth)