Unlimited access >

Fooling around at Liberty

I’m always looking for stuff to do with my horses to keep us from getting bored with the same old exercises and rides. I have zero experience with liberty work, but yesterday and today I got a wild hair and decided to introduce the idea to my gelding. The video is from today at the end of our second ever “session”. I just followed my instincts as far as “training” him to do what I wanted which was to quietly and politely jump the cavaletti when I asked him to. At first he had no interest in jumping it at all! Then he realized it was an easy ask and with some pressure/release and positive reinforcement he got it pretty quickly! I had no lead or line on him for any of our two short sessions. Anyone else play around with this stuff to keep their show horses interested and build a good relationship on the ground? I am not a follower of Parelli or anything–just messing around a bit.

Uploading: IMG_2118.mov…

2 Likes

Maybe this link will work better to video

2 Likes

What fun and what a kind, calm dude. I have a gelding that loves playing games like that, he starts out slow but kinda builds speed and looks over to see what I’m pointing at next. It was a nice way to spend time when I was pregnant and grouchy.

And WOW can I just say how beautiful your arena setting is?! Those trees. So serene and calm.

Also the link shows your name, not sure sure if you’re public with it

thanks it’s ok. I’m pretty transparent flaws and all :joy:

3 Likes

You might really enjoy Kathy Sierra. I just came across her and it was all so compelling. Check out her Youtube channel and here’s a couple podcast interviews too. I just listened to and left me like WOW.

https://www.wehorse.com/en/equestrian-connection-podcast/kathy-sierra

I also found Mustang Maddy a few years ago and find clicker training valuable and fun. Just use hay pellets and they don’t lose their minds focusing on the food reward.