Fractured tail bone

Have any of you had this, and how long did it take you to get back in the saddle?

I had a bad “bone bruise” rather then a real fracture… (took a spill onto a jump riding cross country).

It happened back when I was a whipper snapper :wink: just 15 years old. It was probably a good two weeks before I was riding (with pain). But I was a full working student at the time, and had to get back to the barn and in the saddle.

It hurt when I sat certain ways etc for months, even years later it would give me twinges.

Now at 33, I don’t feel it at all any more.

Did you break yours?

Apparently I fractured it. I’m 58, just worried about how long its gonna take. :frowning:

A long time…but it does depend on your pain threshold. Mine took forever to heal, and like Appsolute said, it hurt for months and years when you sat the “wrong” way. And there’s not a darn thing you can do for it, either — other than to eat more chocolate, because there’s milk in chocolate, and that’s calcium, and that’s good for bones… :slight_smile:

Donkaloosa - How long did you take to get back in the saddle?

I fractured my tailbone several years ago walking down my icy front steps with my then-infant daughter in her carseat. I took one step on my wooden steps and both feet flew out in front of me and I came down on my tailbone on the edge of the steps with the infant carrier +infant in one hand and a huge bag of horse stuff (saddlepads, riding clothes, boots, etc. in a bag) in the other. I was on my way to a horseshow in April and wasn’t expecting ICE (did I mention it was April?). I talked to an ER doctor who advised me not to come in because he said he wouldn’t x-ray anyways. He said it was clear it was broken and there was absolutely nothing I could do about it except sit on a donut pillow and take it easy (he didn’t know me :lol:).