Unlimited access >

Full-time Seasonal Working Student - Europe or US - Any suggestions?

Hi everyone!

I’m new to the full-time, live-in working student world. My experience as a working student has always been part-time, while I went on working the 9-5 office job. Now, I have the itch and some time to get my hands dirty and I’d like to learn from the best, full-time.

1. I’m willing to move anywhere in the world, but I have a horse. I’d like to find a spot for her along with me, but I’m not willing to spend a small fortune to re-home her just for a single season. If I’m moving away from the Los Angeles area (home base), I need a live-in situation, or enough monthly pay to rent a place nearby.

2. My horse is a jumper, so I’d like to work in a show jumping or eventing barn. Hunters might work, too.

3. I have experience with problem and green horses, but because of time/finances, I don’t have a lot of competitions under my belt. I’d love the chance to show, but it’s not a huge part of why I’m looking. I used to run the barn while the trainer was away at shows, and that is okay, too!

4. I’ve jumped up to 1.10m, and it’s my horse’s limitations that keep us from jumping higher. We’re training for higher classes, but I’ve had her less than a year so we’re taking it slow.

5. Physically, I cannot lift heavy water buckets or muck out a bunch of stalls. Groom and tack? No problem. Ride fives horses a day? Cool. But once I have to start lifting heavy things or bending over a pitchfork for hours on end, my herniated disc acts up and I’m useless the next day.