Unlimited access >

Gainesville FL

It looks like I will be relocating to Gainesville FL in a few months. I’m excited to be returning to FL (I moved away 9 years ago), but this will be a somewhat new part of the state for me. What should I know about areas, the current horse scene, etc?? I’m hoping to find a horse friendly property within reasonable distance to the med school. I’ll be shipping down at least one horse who currently is in dressage training (my background is hunter/jumper, but the horse has decided on dressage) so thoughts on trainers welcomed as well.

1 Like

I have lived in both northern and western Alachua County, and both areas have nice horse property available if you’re looking to buy something, but probably don’t qualify as “reasonable distance to the med school.” They don’t by my standards, but I have a friend from Atlanta whose definition of “reasonable distance” is way different than mine. :slight_smile:

The exception might be if you live close to I-75. For a number of years I lived way out north of Alachua, almost to the next county, but I was only a few minutes away from 75, so I could hop on the interstate and get down to Archer Rd. pretty quickly. My office was not that far from the med school and I could get there about as quickly as some of my coworkers who lived on the north side of Gainesville, because they had to fight their way through traffic all the way.

There are areas on the southwest side of town that probably better fit the “reasonable distance” criteria, but that area was, as a coworker used to joke, outside my quadrant, so I can’t help with that.

I mostly kept my horses at home and rode without a trainer and the one place I did board and train at for a while isn’t there anymore, so I can’t give you any recommendations.