Unlimited access >

Getting anxiety over researching Geo-textile footing

Hey!

i am putting in a 100x200 covered arena and I want some sort of geo textile footing. I have called and talked to tons of different companies that manufacture and over the last couple weeks I have done so much research on sand that I am now an expert on sand sieves and content that I am driving myself mad. I have also talked to so many people that HATE their footing and I am getting so much anxiety over making a decision.

Anyone have any advice??

A little about my barn and wants: We have mostly jumpers and the majority competing 1.30- GP. I have 20 horses/students in full training so on most days Iā€™d have 5-20 horses in the ring (we have another ring and a large field that we ride in).

I wanted to add a textile because I want to add some structure to the sand. Sand is great when itā€™s freshly dragged, but I feel like it becomes a little too loose. I also donā€™t want my ring to be hard as a rock with no horizontal give.

Any advice? Anyone love their ring and what they did? We will be installing sprinklers, most likely the gun ones.

Only advice is about sprinklers, make sure they can get EVERY inch of footing, well. Corners, middle, etc. Fiber footing is best kept heavily saturated and the corners get wonky if not wet as evenly as the rest of the ring.

5 Likes

Adding my own question to help bump this back to the topā€¦ it seems like one of the things that may be important is to match your harrow/drag system to the footing, and I wonder if that has come up in your research or discussions.

1 Like

There are several threads on fiber footing regarding problems and successes, including my posts. To make a long story short, I bought fiber footing and it was an epic fail. We did everything we were supposed to, spent nearly 3 x the budgeted amount, and dumped it after a year. If you search, I think you will find information to
help you. Good luck!