Unlimited access >

Getting your horse to drink

Hi All!

I’m a summer intern at The Chronicle of the Horse and currently trying to write a piece on horse hydration.

I was at a show last week and despite the crazy heat and my best efforts, I could not convince the horse I was tending to drink!

Does anyone have any tips for getting horses to drink?

Thanks!

Michelle :slight_smile:

http://horsequencher.com/

Half a flake of Standlee compressed alfalfa in a bucket of water.

Handful of senior feed in a bucket of warm water (cooler weather). Lemon lime powdered Gatorade (warmer weather). A scoop or two of Gatorade in an 8 qt bucket and my horse will drink it all in one go.

When my Melly was so sick and not drinking [and we were thinking poison so wanted to flush, flush, flush] I made him Alfalfa tea.
Since it was really REALLY hot and humid I made it with cold water, but in winter I’ve made it for Yo with warm water.

It’s basically a few alfalfa cubes soaked [until the cubes completely break up] in a gallon or more of water… the water turns a light green, and they seem to love it.
In Mellys case, because I wanted to monitor how much he was drinking, I specifically made it in one gallon batches, so I could then track how many gallons of fluid he was getting orally.

Thank you for the tips!

Would you like your first name to go in the piece? If so could you let me know what it is?

Thank you!

I have added - juice or Gatorade or even beer. Also soaked hay/hay cubes and sloppy beet pulp. Jello powder also works.

When it’s really hot out we will soak all the feed and add electrolytes to the grain. I too have added Gatorade to the water but we’ve also put some cut up apples in so the horses will ‘bob’ for them. To be honest, it’s be so hot and humid that the horses are fortunately drinking more!