Unlimited access >

Grand National controversy

It looks like the animal rights groups are getting more aggressive.

I’ve read about how many horses are killed or permanently injured at the Nationals. I’ve also read how they’ve made it safer. I have very little jumping experience myself. It does seem like jumping horses, at least the ones that are good at it, are wired differently. I rode a truly talented babysitter over some jumps overseas when I took lessons from an amazing trainer (she was Grand Prix level). Yeah, I didn’t have the heart or talent, but I did feel the rush and I respect the heck out of the horses that seem to really have a knack for getting to the other side of those obstacles.

However, here we are in an age where so few understand anything about horses. We don’t have cavalry horses anymore and really, isn’t some of this based on the military training horses required when used on battlefields? How do we translate this in the modern world? Can we still justify the most hazardous equine pursuits? Are we doomed to estrange ourselves even further from the public when races like the Grand National have high casualties?

I don’t have a strong opinion either way. There is always a danger in cancelling this longer, more difficult race, and then having that same fervor spill over into show jumping and eventing.

What is your opinion? Should the Grand National continue as an ultimate testament to the athleticism and willingness of horses? Should the race be modified? Should the number of entries be limited? Should there be more stringent fitness tests for the entries? Or, should it be allowed to pass away as a relic?

2 Likes

An article on this year’s protests.