Unlimited access >

Green Guard muzzle or alternatives for horse prone to rubs

Hi - our vet recommended a grazing muzzle this year for our VERY easy keeper and we grabbed a Tough 1 off of Amazon for the quick delivery time. It’s rubbing her chin raw, so I’m exploring alternatives. Does anyone have experience with the Green Guard and if it rubs?

Every muzzle has the potential to rub. That said, I have FAR fewer rub issues with GG than any of the traditional basket-style muzzles I’ve used - Best Friends, Weaver, Jacks, no-name, and a few others. I have no experience with Tough 1

The biggest rub issue I have had with GG is the section that the strap runs through under the chin. If the muzzle doesn’t sit balanced, as in, if it sags on top of the nose, that allows the plastic part under the chin to ride up and rub. Sometimes it’s just a matter of tightening the nose strap, but that’s also a big reason why the GG halter has the strap that runs down the middle of the face. I’ve also seen people fashion that strap on their own halter with good success.

Thanks JB! I went ahead and ordered it. It’s coupon eligible on Riding Warehouse. :wink:

1 Like

Green Guard? My boy has worn his for two years with no rubs. It’s tough, breathable, and allows for just enough grass.

Oops - yes! Changing now. :slight_smile:

I think you will be pleased. My mare does have 2 places with a little muzzle hair loss( at the sides by the halter rings) due to the halter but not the muzzle. It has never been irritating or raw or bothered her at all.

She does not have the most feminine head :disappointed: