Unlimited access >

Groundwork, anyone?

I love basic groundwork as part of my regimen. I think it serves a number of purposes – especially for a green horse. But nobody else in my big show barn does any at all (unless you count lunging for tiredness).

Anyone else incorporate groundwork into your riding/training/showing life? Curious to hear how often, what you work on, etc.

1 Like

Me! I’m a total noob at it, though. I just started learning about groundwork about a year ago. I have a young horse in full training, so groundwork gives me something productive to do with him on my non-riding days. I only do very basic things (backing up, proper leading, moving off pressure, transitions, changes of direction), but it’s fun. My horse is a total green bean and I feel like groundwork helps him learn to focus on me. He’s an inquisitive type, and he seems to find the groundwork interesting (based on his engagement and expression).

3 Likes

I teach face up first this is NOT join up. With join up they chase the horse away and use tiredness. I look at this as the same way as you view lunging for tiredness.

Facing up uses timing and the horse learns very quickly. I teach it in a small yard and once the horse is following from as little as 3 seconds to 15 minutes I praise and do it again the next day. That goes on for about 4 or so days and the horse now comes when its name is called. I teach them to halt a few feet from me, so as I do not have a horse sliding over me later in the mud!

The horse is taught to stand still from the second it is brought here.