Unlimited access >

H/J Boarding near Exton PA and surrounding areas

I’m looking at moving to near/around Exton PA next month and would love to get some suggestions of boarding barns with a H/J program. I’ve looked through previous threads and I’ve done my own research, but I would love to hear some opinions from folks local to the area about which places are good and which to avoid :slight_smile:

Big things I’m looking for are:

• Full care stall board
  • Plentiful turnout, small groups preferred
  • Indoor
  • Reputable lesson program
  • Budget ~800/mo
  • No more than 30 min from Exton

I’m a good riding amateur with a young TB that I would really like to get in the hunter ring with. I don’t need a barn with a really serious show program though, since I have neither the time nor the budget for that… Horsey and I are also very easygoing and would love someplace more laid back :slight_smile:

Also this is a pretty big move for me, so if anyone is local and wants to give me the inside scoop of all things Philly, I would love all the info I can get :slight_smile:

Exton is very burbsy. My Mother lives not too far from there. Some good food places near Media, PA and Wayne. Philly has a decent food scene. I will say that after years of living and working in NYC, I still never felt safe walking around Philly after 9pm, so something to consider and you may want to leverage Uber/Lyft/taxi more when you’re there.
The Brandywine show series is probably your best bet for horse shows nearby. Malvern Saddlery is nearby and lovely. I don’t know any boarding spots, but you’re also not very far from the Wilmington, DE border, so I wouldn’t rule out northern DE as an option too. I think Alex Matz is in Coatesville, but I don’t know anyone else.
Longwood Gardens is done up beautifully during the holidays. So worth the entry price to spend a day there if you’re getting there before 2022.