Unlimited access >

Hackamore or bit?

So, I am going to try playing around with my mare in western tack. She was DD’s jumper, I have done dressage on her, but now am at a barn where they do all sorts of things, clinics, etc, so I figured why not? She is a VERY sensitive girl in the mouth. I have always ridden her in a French link, but she gets very offended should I ever touch her mouth (she’s not shy about letting you know you offended her). I’m wondering about trying her in a hackamore for western. I have zero experience with a bosal. She has zero experience with any leverage bit or curb chain. She does not exactly neck rein, but I can teach her that in any of my current bridles. If I do decide to go hackamore, would a bosal be better than a mechanical? If I do go mechanical, what to look for there - there’s dozens of them!

I don’t use hackamores all that often except in the winter! (no cold bit to warm up) My hackamore of choice is a Little S hackamore with the rope noseband.

Do you have any friends that currently have a hackamore you could try first and see how she likes it?

I don’t see how it’s possible to do dressage on a horse that won’t let you touch her mouth.

If you’re not going to show, you don’t need a different bit. I use the same plain D ring snaffle on my western bridle as I do on my English bridle.

No, you do not want a bosal. A bosal is a piece of specialized equipment that you need to understand how to use. If you don’t want leverage, use a side pull. Otherwise, I agree with @beau159 - the Little S is a nice, mild hackamore with not a lot of leverage.

2 Likes

As long as you don’t plan on showing, a mechanical hack would be your best bet. It is not legal in competition other than speed events and roping. If you don’t understand the mechanics of a bosal and mecate, don’t go that route.

1 Like