Unlimited access >

Half-lease

hello!
Recently i started riding with my old trainer but at a new facility, it’s been great! i even found myself half-leasing a horse named Oakley! i’ve been doing great, and i love him so much! but the past week his owner had moved barns with her other horse,—leaving Oakley with me and my trainer—so now i thought that i would finally be able to prove that i can own my own horse, riding 6 days a week, taking care of him, buying him the stuff he needs, etc. but my trainer is now leasing his other half, and using him in lessons—i don’t think his owners know this—
which her using him in lessons takes up my ‘prove myself’ i also with his owner leaving wanted to build trust with him. Now i’m incredibly scared that he might end up liking someone else’s riding, and liking someone else more then me. I know it’s selfish. another thing is, now every time i open my trunk i can tell he was ridden cause my grooming supplies are everywhere, today Oakley’s earplugs were all over the place, Oakley’s boots were totally scrambled and the day before they were with two different pairs—his black boots and maroon boots— so i’m incredibly upset with that. another thing i’m upset with is every time he’s been ridden he has bit marks—he gets these little marks almost like he was drooling, which we are finding a new bit for him— and his saddle/girth mark is still there, which means they didn’t take very good care in putting him away. To help with all this mess and to hopefully stop the lessons on him, my grandparents have been paying my trainer more to help with his other half until we can fully lease him. Does anyone have any tips? i know it’s selfish to want him to myself but i have already had some people leave me in my life, and i don’t need a horse leaving me. I think it’s really just the anxiety that he might —again— enjoy someone else other then me. Thank You!! :slight_smile:
p.s.-i’m sorry if i didn’t spell something correctly!