Unlimited access >

HAPPY UPDATE POST 10- Setting Dogs Up for Success- 2 Females

Hey everyone! So I’m currently a vet student living in a group-housing situation which I’d like to continue in for next year. The only problem is my dog, Fergie. The landlords are fine with dogs, and I live in a house with plenty of access to trails/etc. so all of that is fine, but my current housemate (who plans on living here next year) has a female beagle (Sydney).

Fergie and Sydney met this summer, but it wasn’t a very happy meeting (growling/snarling but we pulled them away before it got messy). I sent Fergie home with my parents, but I miss her a lot more than I expected to (silly me, thinking I’d be okay without her!) and also my parents’ work hours mean that she is alone in the crate for most of the day.

Fergie goes to a doggie daycare where she is constantly turned out with other dogs, and they’ve never had an issue with her (they actually LOVE her there). And Sidney has lived with other dogs, and we have 2 other dogs in the house now (both of whom Fergie was fine with). So I’m not sure if it’s an estrogen thing, or what, but Fergie and Sydney did NOT hit it off.

My current plan is to find alternative housing. I’ve already started looking for this and have a group of people that are also interested in finding something next year.

But other than this one fact, I REALLY like my living situation and Jesse (Sydney’s owner) doesn’t want me to leave! Our current plan is to try a re-introduction in January before spring semester classes start. Given that neither dog is poorly socialized, I’m hopeful that we can do things better this time and work them up to the point where they at least tolerate each other. Since I keep Fergie in a crate when I’m not around, they don’t need to be best friends, and they’d never be left together
unsupervised. All I need is for them to be cordial enough that they don’t try to rip each other to shreds.