Hardware removal/cleanout of shoulder...update!

Found out that the screws that were placed in my shattered humeral head need to come out, as they are causing me so much pain that my PT is pointless and I’m not gaining ROM. So…my July is now shot as the surgery is scheduled for just after July 4 to remove to screws and “rotorooter” it all out to get rid of scar tissue. I’m at 4.5 months post original surgery.

They plan on putting me on a CPM?? machine post surgery and then 5-day-a-week PT for 2 weeks. Anyone have experience with this?

I really wanted to be on my horse by August :frowning: but October is sounding more likely.

Update: Surgery scheduled for July 27! finally. I have got all my PT appts. scheduled out for 3 weeks. But, I’m a teacher, and by the end of August, I’m back at school getting my room and curriculum ready. Might get interesting! And, 4 days after this surgery, my horse heads to the County Fair with his little 13 year old lessee! That should be FUN. I haven’t been to fair in years…um…like 25! He gets to do 4-H jumping. I get to be horse show mom in a sling. Can’t wait.

I had hardware put into my shoulder for seven months then removed. My collarbone broke again so the hardware was put in again. After the seven months I needed to let the bones fill in where the hardware had been removed, a few weeks - then back to riding. I hope all goes well for you too.

Yeah, my surgeon told me I’ll have to be very careful until the holes fill in, but I’m not allowed to ride at this point anyway. I am in such pain now that if it mostly goes away with screw removal, I’ll be happy. I’m totally stuck at this level in my PT for ROM–I can “heil Hitler” with my left arm, but not raise my hand for attention:winkgrin:! I am just feeling sorry for myself, really, that my summer plans are changing due to this. Mr. CC is not pleased that I won’t be able to help him with hay, and that he’ll probably have to put on my underwear again for a while:lol:. Poor him.