Unlimited access >

Has anyone else had trouble with their Amerigo jumping saddle sliding back?

As the title suggests, I am curious if anyone else has had trouble with their Amerigo jumping saddle sliding back on their horse(s)? I have had an Amerigo CC jumping saddle for many years, I love it and I am considering buying a new one. However, I have one complaint of my current Amerigo saddle, that it tends to slide back, especially when jumping. I am a professional and jump lots of different horses, and it tends to slide back on all types of backs. It doesn’t go so far back as to be dangerous, but it does tend to slip down behind the withers, which looks to be uncomfortable for the horse, and puts me slightly beyond the saddle in the air. Although, I’ve never had trouble with horses getting back sore, so perhaps it’s a cosmetic thing? I have been looking for an Amerigo representative to talk to, but have not found one, yet. (I am located in northern, IL, if anyone knows of one).

Thanks!

I know that saddle well since I’ve owned one for 8 years and put it on many different horses. It was the saddle that launched my obsession with saddles. :wink:

Anyway, I’ve seen this before, and it could be a couple of things. Alas, without being there with you, it would be hard to say which:

–It could need a flocking adjustment. Since Amerigos are flocked with a synthetic blend, it can take them much longer to “settle” compared to a saddle flocked with 100% virgin wool. Virgin-wool saddles can settle in 6 to 8 months, or even 2-3 months if they’re in heavy duty use. But my Amerigo took nearly 4 years before it needed an overflock! Adding flocking to the front area, in front of the untacked middle portion of the panels, made a huge difference for my saddle’s slippage and the saddle’s overall balance.