Unlimited access >

Has anyone noticed where a horse sweats to indicate how he is working?

I have a non gaited TWH that I ride dressage. When we are working correctly he gets sweaty on his back, on the tops of his hindlegs and rump, and around the tail in addition to shoulder/chest and neck.

When I am not riding him forward and asking him for his haunches, he has majority sweat on shoulders/neck and chest with minor/no sweat anywhere else.

I have been teaching for a few years now and I feel like I have noticed a correlation of where a horse sweats - but I haven’t been able to find anything online backing it up - does anyone have thoughts?

An old horseperson and trainer I worked with for a long time always said that a horse will sweat from the area they are working - so a sweaty underside of the neck means that you are not working the neck correctly.

Personally, I always thought it was nuts. You sweat from sweat glands. When I run, ride, do yoga, or lift weights, I’m sweaty in all the same spots: chest, back, armpits, thighs (:dead:) etc. regardless which muscle group I’m working.

I had a trainer who used to say that you can tell a horse is working correctly off their hind end by the sweat in between their butt cheeks!

I’m not sure this is necessarily true…but I do notice that whenever we do a particularly challenging session or are working on a new level of activity, there is definitely more butt cheek sweat.

Yes, there is a correlation between sweaty spots and how the horse is working. I just came back from a three-day clinic with Siegfried Winkler and we noted how my gelding’s sweaty places indicated where he worked the hardest.

On the last day, we did some concentrated work on collected canter towards pirouettes. Gelding had marked sweating over the tops of his shoulders and base of neck by the withers. This was from the horse really supporting himself (carrying) in the collected work.