Has anyone out there ridden with an amputated thumb?

I’m new to horse forums and I am hoping someone will respond with experience in the situation my daughter is facing. She was tying up her horse at the wash rack after a training and it spooked reared and her thumb was caught in the lead rope and bar and was amputated just below the knuckle. They tried very hard to reattach it but the injury was too severe and she lost it. She is just 12 years old. She rides hunt seat and jumps and competes in shows. We are at a loss as how will she hold the reins without her thumb??? She is a very determined young lady and is waiting for the green light from her surgeon to get back on a horse. We still do not know how short what remains of her thumb is, bandages are still on, but she has small hands and it looks very short. Her trainer is great and is waiting of course to see what she can and cannot do when she returns to the saddle.

I am very sorry to hear about your daughter’s accident. I have no personal experience but I would think that she could run the reins between the pointer finger and the next finger on that hand. It will take time to relearn but since she is young it will probably be easier for her than for an adult after a lifetime of riding.

3 Likes

Look for therapeutic riding groups where you live and see if there are any Paralympic programs or trainers.

Maybe look for a FB group that deals with riders that are differently abled.

I have to believe that riding without a thumb, while daunting when recent and only 12 years old should be fairly easy to overcome compared to what challenges other Paralympic riders have overcome :slight_smile:

{{}} to both of you.

1 Like

Lo

This should work well! There are many ways of holding the reins that are used in other disciplines, I think she’ll be fine.