Unlimited access >

Hay hut - yay or nay

Are hay huts worth the money? Does it save you money? Safe?

Short answer: I have no experience with hay huts, but I think if I fed round bales I might consider.

Longer answer: We feed rectangular bales (all the round bales in this part of the world go to cows, pretty much). Our horses get a couple of flakes in the morning and one each at lunch this time of year. We built wooden hayboxes about 2x3, 2 feet deep from scrap plywood trimmed with PT scrap. They really save on hay because they decrease waste. Hay is up out of the mud (there are drain holes in the bottom of the boxes and they have feet) and the wind doesn’t blow the hay away. We have had no safety issues in the 5 or so years we’ve used them, although one got kicked to bits once. We space them carefully so that the dominant horse doesn’t get to claim all of them and there’s plenty of escape room.

I have a couple of leftover hay piles that I have to remove so am hoping they save money!

Lots of people love them.

A hay hut with a hay net will keep your hay covered and slow the eating down.

We considered purchasing or building a roofed hay hut, and opted not to, due to a concern of them being a challenge to move around the field. Round bale feeders, both traditional style, and a square elevated hay saver model left us with multiple small feeding injuries (think scrapes and small cuts).

We have a few sheep so put a Marweld basket feeder designed for sheep out to see how the horses liked it. Basket Feeder for Sheep - Marweld It is perfect!! Horses easily reach over top, but their bodies do not connect with the feeder. No injuries. The bale is positioned side lying, so no sticking heads into the bale. VERY little waste, and hay stays put in pretty strong winds.