Unlimited access >

Hay questions

I have some questions on hay - What do you look for when choosing hay suppliers? How much do you buy at once? I don’t have a lot of storage but I worry about buying too little. Are there certain cuts or times in the year to plan around? Thanks for your help!

I always buy first cut because 2nd cut is generally too high in sugar for my guys. If possible, I get a nutritional analysis of the hay before committing to a hay contract - that way I can figure out how to balance their diet. I want hay that has been stored inside and was not rained on. I also don’t have much storage so I buy hay once per week but I always get hay cut from the same two fields so I know the nutritional profile won’t change much. I’ve been using the same hay supplier for 10 years so he takes care of me and makes sure he always has enough for me in years of drought. I’d encourage you to build a relationship with one hay dealer and stick with them. Take time to chat, bring the occasional batch of cookies, etc. That relationship is worth putting some effort into.

My hay dealer is fine with me paying as I go but if you want assurance that they will store a years’ worth of hay, you could do up a contract. Around here square bales are very expensive so I buy round bales and peel off the hay.

I hope you’re able to find a good reliable hay supplier.

Thank you!