Unlimited access >

Healing face stitches

my mare recently got a cyst removed on the right side of her nose about half an Inch above her nostril. She is in good spirits but the vet wants me to spray some aerosol wound care directly on it and she’s already not a fan of getting sprayed on her body let alone her face. I won’t be able to twitch her due to the location of the stitches so I was hoping someone has some ideas on how to get her to not flip out when I have to care for it.

side note is their any herbs or anything that will aid in the healing? She’s already on spirula but I’m hoping to get this healed ASAP!

Try spraying the aerosol stuff onto a sponge, then sponge the treatment on her stitches.
Sorry, I have no herbal knowledge.
Maybe Arnica - supposed to heal bruises?

My TB cut his upper lip & needed 7 stitches to close the wound (on a Sunday, of course:rolleyes:)
When healed you could not tell where the stitches had been.

Is there any reason you can’t spray the stuff on a very soft face brush or soft cloth and dab it on?

Is there any reason it has to be an aerosol product? What is it?

Your vet should be your first line of questions or an alternative product.

Faces heal SO well and SO quickly…I would be sorely temped to just skip anything topical all together.

But if it’s a must have, you could spray onto a gloved finger (latex or nitrile, not fabric gloves) and then smear on the horse. They glove won’t absorb, so you should be able to get nearly all of the product where it’s supposed to go.