Unlimited access >

Helmet Use Survey

Hello equestrians! I’m a researcher at UIC College of Medicine and fellow equestrian interested in learning more about equestrian’s attitudes toward helmet use. If you ride, drive, or participate in activities with horses at any level, in any way, I’d like to hear from you. Please consider taking this brief, anonymous survey.

https://uic.ca1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_6JwtVEZTCm8JA7H

Sincerely,
Koren Ganas, PsyD
Research Assistant Professor, Department of Health Sciences Education
University of Illinois College of Medicine – Rockford
Kganas1@uic.edu

Done.

Done. Curious as to how ppl answered the question re their ability to predict their horses actions . I can read horses well but Im not sure anyone can reliably predict all actions.

One of the disciplines I ride requires a helmet; Foxhunting --the other does not; Mounted Archery. I wear one any time I’m on a horse. But I’m old and don’t care what “other people” think —I’ve seen too many people with brain injuries . . .not necessarily from horses, but not something I want if I can do anything to prevent it.

3 Likes

Every ride. Because anything can happen with any horse and I prefer my brain sunny side up, not scrambled.

4 Likes

I found the rubric for riding level interesting. Wondered where it comes from, as I saw the exact same wording on a trail ride site recently. Is this an official descriptor from some society or body, or was it just borrowed?

For the purposes of assessing risk in a trail riding situation, these are good descriptors.

But it just got me thinking about how difficult it is to write really good rubrics for riding level.

For instance, many people with bad form and little understanding of aids are still good trail riders of spirited horses in open country. But I’d never call them advanced riders in a general sense.