Unlimited access >

HELP! 12 year old draft HEAVY on the bit.

Good morning, I am reaching out hoping to find some guidance. I am a trainer and have dealt with several draft and draft crosses as well as ridden and schooled English for a while. however, English and drafts are not my specialty.

I currently have a 12 year old very green Percheron Cross. I have been riding him in a snaffle for 30 days now and he is doing well other than he pushes through the bit often. So I have started riding in a slow twist snaffle. He still pushes through and pulls on me. Otherwise I have no complaints with this gelding.

What would you do if he were in your barn? Just brainstorming here.
Thank you.

12yrs old and green means weak muscle tone. Leaning on the bit is a natural/expected evasion.

The fact that this is also a Draft cross horse doesn’t help the leaning problem. Not only is this horse quite weak, he’s big and probably doesn’t have the best conformation (downhill - big head - short stocky neck - weak hind)

Take your time, it will become lighter when he’s more fit. Draft horses take longer to get fit, older horses take longer to get fit; you have a combination of both! :slight_smile:

Thank you! Those are some fantastic points that I had thought of. He is lacking muscle tone for sure. I have been doing a lot of long trotting with him and riding on a loose reign. I ask for collection for a stride or two at a time, now that he is getting a clue. He responds to that fairly well.
My biggest issue is the halt. This horse is not a run away by any means but he will just plow right on through my hands in a halt. So I have been doing trot to walk transitions and then walk to halt transitions. If he wants to keep going (say to the gate or a buddy) he will just pull on through and then I have to do a one reign stop.
I am worried about building a habit of evasion. How do I go about getting him fit and NOT forming a habit?