Unlimited access >

Help a jumper rider not embarrass herself

I ride jumpers and foxhunt, but have been trying to diversify my horsey experiences and recently a friend invited me to come team penning with her next month. I said yes, then looked up team penning on Youtube. Turns out I did not have a very clear sense of what team penning was!! The closest I have gotten to cows on horseback is hacking out at home and our jumpers are TERRIFIED of the neighbor’s cattle.

I’ve only sat in a western saddle a few times and last year was immediately called out as an English rider because I instinctively got into two-point galloping down a trail, haha. I have booked a lesson with a Western trainer at a nearby barn to get a little more comfortable in the saddle, but would appreciate any hot tips on transitioning from English to Western, team penning, and how to make life easier for the poor borrowed horse that’s going to have to put up with me.

2 Likes

Way back when I was a young professional (at an eventing barn) I went team penning on my hunter pony project. She was registered paint I think, no spots. 14hh greyed to white, super tight knees, and a butt “two axe handles wide” according to the shipper I used to take her east to hunter land.

I borrowed a western saddle and was concerned about looking silly or out of place. Trust me, don’t worry. I could have shown up in breeches and a Tad Coffin and no one would have given a hoot. Pony was a CHAMP. Once she realized the cows would run from her she was all business and pinned ears. I’m sure she made me look cooler than I deserve, but the people were SO welcoming. Seriously great crowd happy to be sharing their sport.

No need to buy a cowgirl costume, that’s the fastest track to a faux pas. Make sure your tack is safe and you can stay in your saddle and HAVE FUN!!

5 Likes