Unlimited access >

Help finding trainer N.C.

Hello everyone! This is my first time posting here but I’ll cut right to the chase. I have recently relocated to Raeford N.C. this is located 30 min from Fayetteville. I have been having a very hard time finding an instructor who can match my goals. There are many very nice family oriented farms as well as dressage barns but I’m sold on the hunter/jumper world. I’ve ridden with a couple FEI riders in the past and while I currently own one horse that I don’t compete, I am looking to purchase another with more potential to bring up the levels. Before college I was jumping 1m10- 1m20 but I won’t lie I’d be grateful to get around a 1/2 meter course as I have just graduated and begun looking to get back into the sport seriously. I can travel up to an hour for a really good match and budget isn’t a big deal. If anyone has any experience with stables along these lines near the area I would love to know names/ boarding price expectations or if I’m a little out of luck with my location. Thank you!

Kelly Bauer is right in Raeford. She teaches ALL disciplines I believe. I’ve been gone from NC for 13 years and don’t know any of the new people, but Kelly is great!! She’s on Calloway Rd. going toward 5 Points and (CHP). If you can’t find her # I can pm it to you.

Look to the trainers in Southern Pines. Very near to Raeford and lots of hunter/jumper folks.

Mike Rosser and Harold Chopping are both in Southern Pines, but neither one has lesson horses.

Marilee Ventura at byway farms is awesome, she is in Carthage. I am 99% sure she has lesson horses but you don’t specify if you need one or not so I’m not sure if that is relevant. She is a true AA trainer and IMO worth making the drive for.

1 Like