Unlimited access >

Help! How to care for my 1st calfskin saddle?

I am a newbie to the world of fine french saddles :smiley:

I recently (<1 week ago) purchased my first Butet (used) from a local saddle dealer.

I have never owned a calfskin saddle before, and would love some advice on the best cleaning/conditioning products to use.

Just as an aside, I was horrified at how delicate it is and how easily it scratches. How do you manage that?

#1- it’s going to get scratched and wear under the leathers. Most real horsemen consider that sort of a mark of honor-means you actually ride in it.

#2- Do. Not. Ride. In. Jeans. You can get away with the lighter, thinner ones once in awhile but the thick seams will scuff the saddle, can mean replacing the seat and knee rolls (if you wear jeans and half chaps) sooner then you expect.

#3- keep it clean and conditioned but don’t glop it up with products that leave a residue. Clean, damp sponge with nothing is best followed by light condition, make sure that absorbs. It is going to change color, that’s what they do,

Any suggestions on specific conditioners? Any products that will protect against scratches?

I already put a pretty decent scratch on it, with just my fingernail!

There’s no conditioner you can put on that will prevent scratching. You know this
. you have skin and all kinds of moisturizers! None of 'em is armor.

Perhaps the best, non-obvious advice I can add is to be careful about over-doing it with one kind of conditioner or fatty/oily/glycerine-y stuff. Too much on fine-grained leather will make it look nice “just sitting there”-- you’ll be tempted to create that nice soft glow every time with some kind of product put on with a damp sponge. But be sure you aren’t creating those “grease jockeys”-- little pills or slivers of dirt mixed with your conditioning product. Look especially at where your stirrup leathers hand or just above where your calf makes the most contact with the flap.