Unlimited access >

Help/Ideas with troubleshooting bad ring behavior!

Hi guys! I am new to this whole forum thing but I was looking to get some outside perspectives on the hiccups I’ve been having with my thoroughbred Elvis. We’ve only been together just short of a year and have made tremendous progress thus far with his weight and basics, but the winter weather and more time off has seemed to bring along some bad behavior when we do get a chance to get in the ring.

Some background on Elvis that could be helpful : He’ll be 10 this April. I got him from a breeding/lay up farm where he was said to have been leased for a while but then had almost a year off due to the leaser losing interest. His previous owners had retrained him slightly but did so by consistently riding him in a neck stretcher and draw reins (even jumping :no:). Even with only having three rides prior to me trying him, he was calm and collected on a 30mph wind day with tarps flying near the ring. He did have an old bow that flared up a few months into me owning him from a pasture incident, he was on stall rest for about 5 months, came back sound, cold and set and has been back in work (more consistently in the summer) since August.