Unlimited access >

HELP NEEDED with dressage turnout

Hello!
I am new to eventing, and the English world in general, and I have a few concerns about proper dressage turnout. I ride a Connemara pony. She has a really thick mane and is a typically hairy little thing. I have completely body clipped her (feathers, face, ears, legs, etc.) as it is 55-70 degrees here in California and she tends to sweat a lot even when clipped. She had her mane pulled in September for a hunter show so it is about 8-10" long at the moment. Now my dilemma is how to turnout her mane for the dressage aspect of eventing. I don’t really want to pull it again but I will if absolutely necessary. Do I make a few large rosette type braids? Do I do a running braid? Do I do a scalloped braid? Since she has been clipped I don’t think it makes sense to adhere to breed specifications. We will be doing our first event at BN level in February. Any tips, pictures, advice, opinions are greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance:)

I used to do a running plait when I evented decades ago. Long and short rossettes are normal. No one ever accused me of being normal and yes I won a few times.

Personally, I would pull and rosette braid.

My preference would be to roach it or pull and braid as well, but either very large braids or a running braid is also acceptable. Leaving it loose is also okay but I probably wouldn’t for a recognized HT especially if it is a typical pony mane.

I would either roach, or pull it and put in about 8-10 big chunky button braids.

If you like her mane the length it is, a running braid is fine, and fast. Braiding isn’t required, but would definitely do it for the dressage phase…

[QUOTE=Jazzy Lady;7959150]
I would either roach, or pull it and put in about 8-10 big chunky button braids.[/QUOTE]

You can do button braids with a longer and thicker mane as per above. There is a good video on Youtube how to do this - search Dutton Event camp braiding.