Unlimited access >

Help on buying a horse

So I am new to the horse owner ship side of the horse world. However I work at a barn and there’s a 3year old buckskin mare, not broke to ride but has ground manners . She is registered. How much would a good price for buying her be. I don’t want to be paying too much for something I’m going to have to be putting money in to train

Do not buy a horse that is not “made” for your first horse. Do not do so.
Ok, get friends and/or relatives who have ridden all their lives to help you find a suitable horse.
Do not buy a horse that is not already trained!

33 Likes

^^^^^ This times 100. Your first horse should be a been there done that horse. Find something that is already doing what you want the horse to do. Use a good horse friend or a good horse trainer to help you navigate trying horses, pre-purchase exams, buying well fitting tack. Don’t forget to budget for tack, blankets, emergency funds. It is not only the purchase price. The purchase price is the cheap part.
I suggest leasing first if possible.

13 Likes

You should not buy this horse at any price. You should not even accept responsibility for this horse if it is given to you for “free.”

When and if you buy a horse, buy a horse that is already ready for you to ride and enjoy at the level you currently ride at, from the first day.

19 Likes

And for your future horse-shopping: Go online at Dreamhorse and other big selling sites, enter your location and your search parameters (“gelding”, “age”, “discipline” etc.). That gives you a good idea what is selling for what, in your area. Area of the country is a huge variable in horse price.

3 Likes

Thank you all so much

5 Likes