Unlimited access >

Herd Bound in 3 Days?!?

Short (comparatively speaking) background: I’m an adult amateur with aspirations in dressage. 12 year old mare, my first horse, purchased in early May. Previous owner had her on the same small backyard farm for 9 years. I have to board, and my trainer works in a VERY large professional barn- actually 5 barns, 4 rings, polo field- you get the picture. Mare seemed bombproof at trial rides to both myself and reputable trainer, but shortly after purchase some behavior issues crept up and I found myself the proud owner of a very intelligent, beautiful, well-trained, but fairly neurotic horse.

She was anxious almost constantly and had gone from solid trail horse to seemingly ring sour. She was not, to my mind, dangerous, but certainly difficult to work with because she is/was constantly on “high alert” and not focused on a handler or rider. I put her in a program with my trainer in addition to working with her myself, so I handled her daily and she was ridden 3x a week by me and 2x by trainer. No progress. She also clashed with my trainer, I believe because she is very sensitive and doesn’t respond well to all styles of discipline. This, combined with repeated (minor) injuries in pasture led me to move her to another, much smaller, barn a month ago.

She handled the transition quite well, and I noticed during her quarantine that she finally seemed really bonded to me. This, of course, was while she was in private turnout. She’s been great overall, new trainer has excellent rapport with her, and we’ve been doing pretty well too. I have always made an effort to be a consistent presence in her routine, so I visit her daily and ride 5x a week. I am not an absentee owner!