Unlimited access >

Highland Acres In Cincinnati?

I haven’t ridden a horse for a few years due to confidence issues (thus I have like no confidence left, like at all, but I want to start riding again and gaining at least some back). I found a barn close to my apartment. Based on their website, their lesson rates are reasonable (maybe too reasonable?), they have lesson horses, and while they go to local shows, they don’t pressure you to compete. It is a hunter/jumper barn, which is what I’ve been doing since I was 10 years old (and up until I ultimately left), which is also why I am posting here. I did some Googling and I only found like 1-2 reviews and both were 5 star ratings. The website said the barn has been operating since 2004, yet, I can’t find much on the barn or trainer except for their website.

COTH, tell me. Is this too good to be true? Is the trainer reputable? Is the barn reputable, good? Has anyone ever at least heard of this place? How is the trainer with horseless and timid AAs, anyone know?

Ultimately, I want to research the barn a little more before reaching out to them and scheduling a visit or lesson. I also have a few things in my personal life to sort out first too, but I thought it was worth popping the question. I don’t mean this to be an ill intended post, just trying to do some diligent research. Thanks everyone!

No idea on the area. But honestly there is no substitute for visiting a barn, watching some lessons, and then doing a trial lesson. There are many ways a barn can be a mismatch, even if the barn is within decent professional parameters. And sometimes a barn can be a good fit for a while even if some aspects are lacking.

You don’t have a horse. You have no commitment. Go see. Pay attention to horse condition, footing, stall condition, coherence of lessons, any red flags or over promising etc.

3 Likes