Unlimited access >

Holding the race horse

Hi there,

I am currently working on a small thoroughbred farm.

I have been learning to gallop/exercise race horses how they call it. My boss is an older trainer that just has his own. He’s not a gallop guy. This is why I wanted to ask the forum.

I have been riding his horses for several months now, but he doesn’t have a track or anything, just a bigger arena.

It probably also depends on the horses-- but when I’m on the track,

How tight/ short should I hold my cross?
is there a good position to start out with or just go tight?
”‹(”‹”‹”‹”‹”‹I have been practicing shortening and loosening the cross, along some other things to get muscle memory down so i am comfortable galloping all those horses right now in the setting were still in)

I’m sure it depends on the horse but i also don’t want to hold them too tight and hinder the horse from relaxing/ fight with them.
is it acceptable to use a chunk of mane or the yoke as sort of an anchor? (My boss says only worry about the reins, don’t hold the yoke or mane. For some horses that is fine but he’s got some
”‹that throw their head all over the place, from nose straight up in the air, to straight down, to left and right. For that type of horse I really feel better with sort of an anchor.

My boss also puts the bridle really tight, he tells me 2 or 3 fingers width, sometimes after I get on he makes it tighter…dunno how I should feel about that…

Given that I have not ridden these horses outside on a track or straight surface, I want to mentally prepare bc I’m sure it will be different that what I’m used to. Only 2 of these horses have been to the track before but the others have not.