Unlimited access >

Horse Anatomy

Sick and tired of all the angst in our society and getting really bored with it all I started studying Horse Anatomy. It was becoming more and more obvious to me that studying this was probably the quickest way to make sure that I do not inadvertently end up annoying the lesson horses I ride unnecessarily. I have MS, bad balance, bad coordination, and I lose track of my limbs. I do pretty good, at least the horses usually do not cuss me out but I always want to become a better rider.

Since I am 72 studying horse anatomy will probably fill all my vacant hours for the rest of my life. A little part of my brain told me that if I wanted to study horse anatomy I was running out of time and that I needed to take a deep dive into the subject.

I have a sort of odd learning disability. I simply cannot learn even the basics of a subject until I have read around 20 books by at least three different authors on a subject. I did not have 20 books on anatomy a few months ago. So I got on line, found the 3-D Horse Anatomy computer program, started playing with it, and realized that it had the same limitations as the anatomy books I already owned, not enough detail and not enough information. So I went on-line hoping to find a horse anatomy equivalent of Grey’s Anatomy, hah!

Thanks to going on-line and buying the more veterinary school caliber anatomy books I now have 15 whole horse anatomy books plus two anatomy books for specific areas. Not quite my ideal of 20 books but a decent start. I have been looking at the pictures, my brain decides it wants to know more about a specific muscle or bone and I look that up in at least 7 of the books. Early on I realized that the differences between the pictures (or photographs) could well be because they were all of different horses, of different ages, breeds, soundness, etc…