Unlimited access >

Horse covered in hard bumps - eosinophilic granuloma? Warbles?

I’m new here - I read the forums frequently and have found a wealth of information here that has helped me with my riding and horse care in general. But this is my first time posting, because I haven’t been able to find an answer to my question and I’m hoping you guys will be able to shed some light on the subject.

Backstory - I’m riding a AQHA gelding about 8 years old. This horse came to our barn this summer - he had many hard bumps all over his body (in clusters on his legs, on his back, belly, chest - pretty much everywhere), and we were told by previous owners that he was allergic to bug bites and that’s why he had the bumps. We gave him a fly sheet, but we didn’t see any change in the bumps during the summer - some may have gotten harder or a bit larger, but I can’t be certain he didn’t get new bumps. They didn’t seem to bother him, and the hair grew normally over the bumps, so we left them alone for the time being, waiting to see if the bumps resolved on their own once the bugs were gone for the year. Fast forward to now - bumps are still there. A visit with the vet didn’t give us much info - suggestions included rubbing icthamol (sp) over the bumps, injecting them with depo, or doing a biopsy. We decided to try the least invasive option first, but I don’t see any change in the bumps after a week of using the icthamol. Also, the bumps are so widespread across his body that it’s difficult to keep track, so I’ve been focusing my efforts on a few prominent bumps.