Unlimited access >

Horse Suddenly Refusing to Go Round

Hi all! I am a long-time reader of this Forum but it is my first time posting as I have an issue that has me stumped and I’m hoping this community might be able to help! Here is the story:

I have an (about to turn 6) OTTB gelding that I bought when he was 3. I’ve been bringing him along slowly and carefully since then in dressage. He is a big-boned, big guy that has done a lot of growing - he was 16.2hh when I bought him and is now over 17hh - but has always had a beautiful cadence and very soft way of going. I’m short but he doesn’t ride big to me since he has always been so light in the bridle… until recently. His natural frame is to go round - even if I lunge him without side reins he instinctively wants to make a nice shape. This summer he was winning almost all his Training Level classes, and was High Score at our Championship show in September. I was thrilled with how he was going and we were prepping to move up to First Level this fall. Obviously that asks a bit more from him in terms of lengthening, collecting, and moving sideways but none of it seemed hard for him, he wasn’t showing any signs of feeling overfaced - plus we had been playing with some First Level moves over the summer already so I was slowly working on building him up to put it all together.

Then, in late October, just as we were about to do our first First Level outing, he started becoming resistant in the hand. Within 3 rides it had gotten to the point where he was head in the air. It was sooo unlike him, so I immediately called the vet out. Here’s what we’ve done since then: